+852 3163 1570 carmen@asaesea.org

The Royster Student Scholarship Award Program is a chapter-run poster competition held once a year for a total of US$5,000 in scholarships. Full-time graduate students enrolled in a program involving acoustics, or senior undergraduate students expecting to enroll in such a program, are eligible to submit entries.

Generously Provided By Larry and Julia

This year, the Program is run by the East and South East Asia (ESEA) Chapter, and the theme of the poster competition is “Sound and Wellbeing”  And, the deadline for submission has been extended to 31 March 2021. Details and rules are presented below.

Sound and Wellbeing

Entry and Eligibility Requirements

  • Posters should be on any topics related to the theme regarding “Sound and Wellbeing” including:
    • Education
    • Sound Surveys
    • Engineering and Administrative Controls
    • Hearing Protection
    • Audiometric Evaluations
  • So a vast number of potential acoustic project areas are covered. From doing psychological studies on how to better inform the impacted individuals to developing math-model/computer based data analysis techniques.
  • A maximum of two (2) poster competitions will be supported annually
    • Each winner will receive a US$2,500 scholarship.
    • If the winning poster results from the efforts of multiple students, the award will be split equally among the student authors.
  • The competition shall comply with the following rules:
    • The regional chapter (ESEA) will appoint at least three (3) judges, as well as an individual who will be responsible for ensuring that all relevant information is gathered and submitted to the Committee on Regional Chapters and the national ASA office.
    • Judging will be based on scientific merit, the apparent future potential of the student(s) to contribute to the general field of acoustics, and relevance of the presentation to the scope of the competition.
    • Students formally enrolled at an accredited institution of higher learning and are able to use the scholarship by the following academic year of full-time graduate studies in a program that includes acoustics in the curriculum, are eligible to submit entries. Submitted entries must be accompanied by evidence that satisfies the judges of the student’s eligibility.
    • A summary paper should be submitted to the Royster competition coordinator of the chapter, by each poster entry, before the deadline to allow judges to become familiar with the expected posters.
    • Each poster should be visually self-explanatory, should also include a 3-5 page summary paper covering the contents of the poster, and may be accompanied by a demonstration or talk. The judges, in making their final decision, should also consider this summary and demonstration or talk.
  • The scholarship award will be given to the winning students’ school to be applied against expenses of full-time graduate study in a program that includes acoustics. The winner(s) must report to the competition coordinator the contact information for the university officer that would be responsible for administering the scholarship funds.
  • Within three months of graduation, the winner(s) of this scholarship will provide to ESEA a copy of their thesis or project report.


Teams or individuals must register by email on or before 31 March 2021 to the competition coordinator at carmen@asaesea.org. In the email, please indicate:

  • Your name and school;
  • The name of your teammates (if any), their school(s) (if different than your school), and their e-mail addresses;
  • The name of your faculty advisor, his or her school, and his or her email address;
  • If the project will be completed
    • For credit as part of a design studio,
    • For credit as part of a non-studio class,
    • As an extra-curricular;
  • The student participant who will serve as primary contact for the team. The primary contact will serve as a vital link for receiving information and updates on the competition. This may be include answers to frequently asked questions and changes to information presented in the flyer;
  • The submission of the Digital Poster and a 3-5 page summary;
  • Other demonstration or talk.